Bharatiya Janata Party Scores ‘Triple Century’ : Historic High For BJP And Historic Low For Congress

The 2014 Lok Sabha election saw the Bharatiya Janata Party led by Narendra Modi storm to power at the Centre with a “triple century”, giving the National Democratic Alliance an unexpected 336 seats in the Lok Sabha. There was a strong showing in the Hindi heartland, consisting of Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Delhi, Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand where the BJP won as many as 190 out of 225 seats. The Congress found it difficult to cross the double-digit mark in most of the States as the BJP swept Gujarat (26), Rajasthan (25), Delhi (7), Uttarakhand (5), Himachal Pradesh (4) and Goa (2).




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *